What are the basic Labour laws?

What are the basic Labour laws?

The basic subject matter of labour law can be considered under nine broad heads: employment; individual employment relationships; wages and remuneration; conditions of work; health, safety, and welfare; social security; trade unions and industrial relations; the administration of labour law; and special provisions for …

What are the three new Labour laws?

The Employees’ Compensation Act, 1923. The Employees’ State Insurance Act, 1948. The Employees’ Provident Funds and Miscellaneous Provisions Act, 1952. The Employment Exchanges (Compulsory Notification of Vacancies) Act, 1959.

What is the standard working hours in Singapore?

Normal hours of work

If you work Your contractual hours of work are
5 days or less a week Up to 9 hours per day or 44 hours a week
More than 5 days a week Up to 8 hours a day or 44 hours a week

What are the 5 areas of employment law?

Five areas of employment law small businesses must be aware of

  • Employment contracts. There is no legal requirement to provide a written employment contract but it is advisable to have one so the terms of employment are recorded.
  • Protecting the interests of the business.
  • Unfair dismissal.
  • Discrimination.
  • Personal data.

How many labour laws are there?

The central government has stated that there are over 100 state and 40 central laws regulating various aspects of labour such as resolution of industrial disputes, working conditions, social security and wages.

What is labour Reform Bill 2020?

The 2020 Bill lays that the central government will set up funds for unorganized workers, gig workers and platform workers. The State governments will also set up and administer separate social security funds for unorganized workers.

What laws protect an employer?

What are the primary pieces of legislation?

  • Equality Act 2010.
  • Employment Rights Act 1996.
  • Health and Safety at Work Act 1974 (HSWA)
  • Data Protection Act 1998 (DPA)
  • Working Time Regulations (1998) & The Working Time (Amendment) Regulations 2007.

What are some laws that protect workers?

U.S. Labor Laws

  • Norris-LaGuardia Act (1932)
  • National Labor Relations Act (1935)
  • Fair Labor Standards Act (1938)
  • Taft-Hartley Act (1947)
  • Labor Management Reporting and Disclosure Act (1959)
  • Title VII of the Civil Rights Act (1964)
  • Age Discrimination in Employment Act (1967)
  • Occupational Safety and Health Act (1970)

What are the four codes of law?

These four sources of law are the United States Constitution, federal and state statutes, administrative regulations, and case law. Each country’s legal system has its own sources of law, but for those systems that enact Constitutions, the Constitutions are the most fundamental of the sources of law.

What are new labour codes?

The four labour codes that had been approved by the President are the Code on Wages, 2019, the Industrial Relations Code, 2020, the Code on Social Security, 2020 and the Occupational Safety, Health and Working Conditions Code, 2020. 2.