What are the key points of the Equality Act 2010?

What are the key points of the Equality Act 2010?

The Act makes it unlawful to discriminate against someone on the grounds of any of these characteristics: age, disability, gender reassignment, marriage or civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity, race, religion/belief, sex (gender) and sexual orientation. These are often referred to as protected characteristics.

What are the main points of the Equality Act?

Specifically, it prohibits discrimination based on sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, and intersex status in a wide variety of areas including public accommodations and facilities, education, federally funded programs, employment, housing, credit, and jury service.

How many sections are there in the Equality Act 2010?

A new Equality Act came into force on 1 October 2010. It brings together over 116 separate pieces of legislation into one single Act. The Act provides a legal framework to protect the rights of individuals and advance equality of opportunity for all.

What are the 7 types of prohibited conduct?

19Indirect discrimination

  • age;
  • disability;
  • gender reassignment;
  • marriage and civil partnership;
  • race;
  • religion or belief;
  • sex;
  • sexual orientation.

What is Equality Act 2010 summary?

Overview. The Equality Act 2010 legally protects people from discrimination in the workplace and in wider society. It replaced previous anti-discrimination laws with a single Act, making the law easier to understand and strengthening protection in some situations.

How does the Equality Act 2010 protect individuals?

The Equality Act is a law which protects you from discrimination. It means that discrimination or unfair treatment on the basis of certain personal characteristics, such as age, is now against the law in almost all cases. The Equality Act applies to discrimination based on: Age.

What are the 6 types of prohibited conduct?


  • age;
  • disability;
  • gender reassignment;
  • race;
  • religion or belief;
  • sex;
  • sexual orientation.

What are the 4 stages of discrimination?

The 4 types of Discrimination

  • Direct discrimination.
  • Indirect discrimination.
  • Harassment.
  • Victimisation.

Why is it important to prevent discrimination?

It is important to prevent discrimination happening to anyone. This is because it helps protects their rights and wellbeing since everyone deserves to access the same rights and have the same opportunities in life.

What are the four main types of prohibited conduct?

There are four “main” types of prohibited conduct which include: Direct Discrimination, Indirect Discrimination, Harassment and Victimisation.

How does discrimination affect the workplace?

People who feel discriminated against are often less engaged, have poorer wellbeing, and, logically, would prefer to work elsewhere. Their employers are less profitable as a result.

How can you reduce discrimination in the workplace?

You can help prevent discrimination in the workplace by steps including:

  1. having an up-to-date equality policy.
  2. providing regular anti-discrimination training to staff.
  3. making it clear how staff can complain if discrimination happens.

What are examples of Victimisation?


  • You make a complaint of sex discrimination against your employer.
  • You make a complaint to the school of your disabled son about his unfair treatment by some of the staff.
  • Three years ago you helped an employee of your local bank branch in a sex discrimination claim against the branch manager.

What does the Equality Act 2010 do to prevent discrimination?

Information and guidance on the Equality Act 2010, including age discrimination and public sector Equality Duty. The Equality Act 2010 legally protects people from discrimination in the workplace and in wider society.

Where can I find information on the Equality Act 2010?

Equality Act 2010 on the website Explanatory notes on the website A list of all legislation that was repealed or revoked on 1 October 2010 is available in Schedule 27 to the act. Statutory Instruments made under the act are available:

When to use the former questionnaire for discrimination in employment?

The former questionnaire should only be used in respect of acts or omissions occurring before 6 April 2014. For further information, see Practice note, Discrimination in employment: bringing and defending claims: Obtaining information: informal question and answer procedure.

When did the Equality Act 2010 come into effect in Scotland?

The Equality Act 2010 (Statutory Duties) (Wales) Regulations 2011. For Scottish public bodies, the Scottish government launched a consultation on revised draft Regulations for specific duties on 9 September 2011. The consultation closed on 25 November 2011.