How many Salter-Harris classifications are there?

How many Salter-Harris classifications are there?

There are nine types of Salter–Harris fractures; types I to V as described by Robert B Salter and W Robert Harris in 1963, and the rarer types VI to IX which have been added subsequently: Type I – transverse fracture through the growth plate (also referred to as the “physis”): 6% incidence.

What is a Salter-Harris type 4 fracture?

Type 4. This fracture occurs when a force hits the growth plate, the rounded part of the bone, and the bone shaft. About 10 percent of Salter-Harris fractures are type 4. This can happen at any age, and it may affect bone growth.

What is a Salter-Harris type 1 fracture?

A Salter-Harris type I fracture refers to a fracture line that runs straight across the growth plate, involving the cartilage without affecting the bone. Type I may cause the epiphysis, or the rounded end of the bone, to separate from the rest of the bone.

What is a Level 3 fracture?

A type III fracture (see the images below) is a fracture through the physis and epiphysis. This fracture passes through the hypertrophic layer of the physis and extends to split the epiphysis, inevitably damaging the reproductive layer of the physis.

What are the 10 types of fractures?

Different types of bone fractures can be open, closed, stable, displaced, partial, or complete.

  • Transverse Fracture. Transverse fractures are breaks that are in a straight line across the bone.
  • Spiral Fracture.
  • Greenstick Fracture.
  • Stress Fracture.
  • Compression Fracture.
  • Oblique Fracture.
  • Impacted Fracture.
  • Segmental Fracture.

What are the 4 main types of fractures?

Although there are many types of bone fractures, there are four main categories a fracture usually falls under: displaced, non-displaced, open and closed.

How do you treat a Salter-Harris 2 fracture?

Type I and II fractures are often treated with a closed reduction, which involves setting a bone back in place without surgery. After realignment of the bone, a cast or splint is typically applied to keep the bone stable so it may heal properly.

How do you manage a Salter-Harris fracture?

Treatment for all types of these fractures typically involves rest, application of ice, and elevation of the limb. Regarding further treatment, type I and II may require only setting the fracture and stabilizing it with a cast or splint, while type III and IV may require surgery to set the bones.

What is a Salter-Harris Type 3 fracture?

Salter-Harris type III fractures are an uncommon, intraarticular fracture physeal fractures that occur in children. The fracture line is often obliquely oriented through the epiphysis to the physis where it will take a horizontal orientation extending to the edge of the physis.

What are the 3 most common causes of fractures?

The most common causes of fractures are:

  • Trauma. A fall, motor vehicle accident, or tackle during a football game can all result in fractures.
  • Osteoporosis. This disorder weakens bones and makes them more likely to break.
  • Overuse. Repetitive motion can tire muscles and place more force on bone.